The Electones

The core of The Electones is Jens Petter Nilsen and Hallvard Wennersberg Hagen. You may know them as Xploding Plastix, but this is something different. Following the release of two 12"-ers on the UK label Inertia in 2002 and 2003, they recieved their fair share of nice feedback:

Steps confidently not to mention beautifully between the realms of jazz, electronica, classical and acoustic folk.Class (DJ Magazine)

Since then, they have been slowly and steadily working on the Electones debut album, in between further two Xploding Plastix albums, one album as Piston Ltd, and lots of other commisioned works. Originally a collaboration between Jens Petter, Hallvard and singer Rita Augestad Knudsen, the album has evolved into a collaboratoral effort, adding the voices of Kaja Haven, Endre Bjotveit and Erland Dahlen, the latter also on drums, percussion & saw, plus Bjørn Charlie Dreyer and Lars Fredsik Frøisli on various instruments.

The result is the stunning debut album "If You'll Be Null, I'll Be Void", who can be described as a mixture of 60-ish folk rock, early electronica and a dose of Lanois.


as Piston Ltd

    as Xploding Plastix

    • BSS031 Treat Me Mean, I Need The Reputation 7" (Beatservice Records 2000)
    • BSCD038 Amateur Girlfriends Go Proskirt Agents CD (Beatservice Records 2001)
    • BSLP038 Amateur Girlfriends Go Proskirt Agents LP (Beatservice Records 2001)
    • BSCDEP041 Behind The Eightball CD-EP (Beatservice Records 2001)
    • Doubletalk EP 12" (Beatservice US/Groove Dis 2001)
    • Sunset Spirals (featuring Sarah Cracknell) CD-single (Sony 2003)
    • The Benevolent Volume Lurking EP 12"/CD-single (Columbia/Sony 2003)
    • The Donca Matic Singalongs CD/LP (Columbia 2003)
    • The Duck & Cover EP 10" (Palm Beats 2003)
    • Amateur Girlfriends CD (Palm Beats 2004)
    • The Rebop by Proxy EP 10" (Palm Beats 2004)
    • BS111CD Treated Timber Resists Rot CD (Beatservice Records 2008)
    • BS118CD The Donca Matic Singalongs Revisited CD (Beatservice Records 2009)
    • BS119 Devious Dan EP Digital EP (Beatservice Records 2010)

    compilation contributions

    • Dub Plates From The Lamp CD / LP (Pork 2000)
      Xploding Plastix: Lets Pretend Desperate
    • O' What A Day CD (UCM 2000)
      Xploding Plastix: Electric Things
    • scandinavian Zoom CD (YBO 2000)
      Xploding Plastix: Treat Me Mean I Need The Reputation
    • Vent 004 - A Drum'n'Bass Document CD (Tar Media Productions 2000)
      Xploding Plastix: The Beat Of The Drum / Xploding Plastix: Funnybonez and Lazylegz
    • Arctic Circles 3 (BSCD043) CD

      ADODB.Recordset error '800a0cc1'

      Item cannot be found in the collection corresponding to the requested name or ordinal.

      /artistdisc.asp, line 49